The Cry of the Why

I remember when I was little I loved to sit quietly by myself for hours on end.  Sometimes to read and sometimes to think and talk to God.  It’s tantalizing where your own imagination can take you, but listening to God’s dreams was even more adventuresome.  Until I went to college I almost never even jammed to music.  Call it “life” or “growing up,” but something changed that spoiled my contented mind.  I didn’t like it.  I decided a long time ago that I wasn’t going to do that kind of growing up.  The growing up that made you wiser is ok, but not the kind of growing up that spoils your mind, imagination, and communication with God.

I couldn’t stand the silence anymore.  I’d play noise all the time: TV, internet, music, or whatever was noisy.  The silence was too loud.  There were so many doubts, fears, guilt, shame, and the “should” thoughts were particularly annoying.  Then there was the constant “why?!”  What was the point of life?  Why do we do what we do?  Are we just products of our environment?  If so, then why do we try to live good at all?  We have a blip of an existence on this earth and even if we influence a lot of people, we are still forgotten in a fairly short time.

Maybe you feel like this too.  That’s OK.  In fact, you are probably more awake than most people.  There is more to life than meets the eye!  I pursued God to reveal Himself to me.  I didn’t want someone else’s word about God, I wanted to encounter Him myself.  He came.  Jesus came and took away all my sins, doubts, fears, guilt, and shame.  He shut up the “shoulds” and answered the “whys.”  He continues even now to answer my questions like a good teacher.  Sometimes He doesn’t give me answers I like or expect to hear, but I prefer the truth to a lie.  People are meant for more.  There is a purpose— a point— to our existence.  Jesus died because of His beautiful love for us so that we can spend eternity with God, rather than an eternity apart from God, who is Love, Truth, Light, and Life.  Cry out to Jesus to save you from your sins.  He will come.

Leave a Reply

